Maharashtra Election 2024: Nitin Gadkari and Supriya Sule Lead Early Trends – Live Updates

There is a possibility of votes getting divided in Maharashtra due to the recent split in two major regional parties, Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Supriya Sule, the Member of Parliament from Raigad, welcomed supporters outside the Y.B. Chavan Center in South Mumbai.

In Maharashtra, the political landscape is shaped by two major alliances: the Mahayuti alliance, comprising BJP, Shiv Sena, NCP, and Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (RSP), and the Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance, consisting of Indian National Congress, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray), and NCP (Sharad Pawar). The lines of battle are drawn between these alliances, with Shiv Sena (BJP) and NCP (SSP) facing off in 13 constituencies each, while the RSP group competes against each other in two seats.

In 2014, BJP secured a majority in Maharashtra with 23 seats, followed by Shiv Sena with 18 seats and NCP with 4 seats. In 2019, BJP once again gained a majority with 41 seats. Now, after the split in the two major regional parties, it’s crucial for the state’s voters to decide which alliance they support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *